City of Devils Lake - Devils Lake North Dakota
Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by

City Commission

Devils Lake City Commission, Left to Right, Dale Robbins, Rick Morse, Richard Johnson, Craig Stromme,  Ban Sander

City Commission (Four Years) City Election At Large

The governing body of the City of Devils Lake consists of a Board of City Commissioners. The Governing Board consists of a President (Mayor) and four City Commissioners.

The President (Mayor) votes as a member of the board and does not have veto power.

Meeting Times And Dates

The Board of Commissioners meet the first and third Monday of each month, unless the normally scheduled Monday falls on a City holiday. In this case, the meeting is moved to the following Tuesday. The meeting time is 5:30 p.m. in the Commission Chambers located at 423 6th Street NE.


There are portfolios designated to each member of the City Commission. The division of portfolios takes place after each election. Those portfolios include:

  • Finance
  • Police
  • Fire
  • Street
  • Sanitation
  • Water
  • Sewer
  • Cemetery
  • Municipal Judge
  • City Attorney
  • Engineering
  • Assessing

City Commission Portfolios

Appointed Officers

The City Commission appoints the following officers:

  • City Administrator/Auditor
  • Assessor/Building Official
  • Engineer
  • Chief of Police
  • Fire Chief
  • City Attorney

Devils Lake City Commission

Richard Johnson

Richard Johnson , Mayor
107 19th Street NE, Devils Lake, ND 58301
Home Phone Number: (701) 662-4889
Work Phone Number: (701) 662-7600, ext. 1
Fax Number: (701) 662-7612
Term Expires: June 30, 2018



Rick Morse

Rick Morse, Vice President
603 14th Avenue NE, Devils Lake, ND 58301
Home Phone Number: (701) 662-8332
Work Phone Number: (701) 662-2131
Term Expires: June 30, 2018


Craig Stromme


Craig Stromme, Commissioner
103 19th Street NE, Devils Lake, ND 58301
Home Phone Number: (701) 662-8858
Term Expires: June 30, 2018



Dale Robbins

Dale Robbins, Commissioner
304 18th Avenue SE, Devils Lake, ND 58301
Home Phone Number: (701) 662-7134
Work Phone Number: (701) 662-8766
Term Expires: June 30, 2020

Shane Hamre

Shane Hamre, Commissioner
909 Kelly Ave NE, Devils Lake, ND 58301
Cell Phone Number: (701) 351-2028
Home Phone Number: (701) 544-2222
Term Expires: June 30, 2020

Meeting Dates, Minutes, and Agendas


City Attorney

Tom Traynor, City Attorney

Tom Traynor serves as the Devils Lake City Attorney

Phone Number: (701) 662-4077
Fax Number: (701) 662-7537
Address: 509 5th Street NE, PO Box 838, Devils Lake, ND 58301



Green Line

Green Line

Email Login
© 2001 - 2017 City of Devils Lake, all rights reserved
Site designed and maintained by NDTC